moralfjant

ung & uppkäftig genushäxa

C-uppsatsen - abstractet

Kategori: Whatever

Varsegoa här får ni se vad studien handlat om i korthet, dock på engelska eftersom jag inte orkar översätta. Men det finns ju google translate! ;) 

Den som vill läsa hela uppsatsen kan mejla mig på [email protected] så ska jag langa över den till er. Den är på svenska.
 

Abstract

Background: Male underachievement in western education systems has existed for several decades, and many researchers believe that current masculinity norms are an obstacle for boys’ school achievement and thereby a contributing cause to the gender gap.
Aim: The main aim of this study was to explore whether masculinity norms within Swedish secondary schools can be considered a contributing cause to male underachievement, by exploring what empirical content male teenagers subscribe to the notion masculinity norms.
Method: The study is based on interviews with six boys, equally distributed among schools with a low and high rate of male underachievement. A fenomenographic method was used to examine their variety of views and the results were additionally analyzed through gender theory.
Results: The main results shows that it is utterly important for teenage boys to follow current masculinity norms, containing a reluctance towards feminine behavior, a need to radiate “coolness” and to have an active social life. For the respondents from the school with high rate of male underachievement some masculinity norms stood in conflict with school achievement.
Conclusion: This study concludes that current masculinity norms can affect boys´school achievement, depending on the implication of masculinity norms in the particular school.


Key words: Male underachievement, masculinity norms, hegemonic masculinity, school achievement, secondary school
Nyckelord: Manlig underprestation, maskulinitetsnormer, hegemonisk maskulinitet, skolprestation, högstadieskola

Kommentarer

  • Emma säger:

    Vilket spännande ämne! Hade gärna tagit del av uppsatsen.
    När jag skrev min c-uppsats på socionomutbildningen skrev jag om hur sexuella övergrepp i barndomen påverkar den vuxna kvinnans sexualitet. När jag skrev min d-uppsats skrev jag om våld i nära relationer där kvinnan är förövaren.

    Svar: Åh det låter också väldigt intressant! :)
    Mican

    2013-05-22 | 09:52:22
    Bloggadress: http://hemmahosknyttet.blogg.se

Kommentera inlägget här: